Holiday Musings

As I sit in my quiet, still-messy-from-the-chaos-of-this-week house, I’m thinking about how blessed and how absolutely in love with life I feel… This is the first time in eight Christmases since my daughter was born that my children will not be with me overnight on Christmas Eve. They will not wake up with me on Christmas morning to see what Santa has brought, to share in the wonder and awe of the spirit and mystery that is Christmas. I am feeling a mixed-bag of emotions. On the one hand, I am somewhat relieved that I get a quiet house for a few days, but on the other hand, I feel a little bit sad to not have my babies with me.

Adjusting to our new life since divorce has been a bumpy road, one riddled with twists and turns that have brought many fears to the surface, and have rewarded us with a bounty of blessings that brings tears of gratitude to my eyes. With the sadness of a mother who never wants to be separated from her children, but the love and compassion of a woman who wants the best for everyone, I share my gratitude and love with you this Holiday season while my children enjoy Christmas with their father, and I reflect…

I am grateful for….

  • my life
  • my children
  • my home
  • my family – mom, dad, sister, brother-in-law and nieces and nephews
  • my career and growing business
  • abundance – we have everything we need and a lot of what we want
  • my TRIBE, my beautiful soul sisters and soul brothers near and far, who support, love and cheer us on
  • closeness
  • distance
  • space
  • coziness
  • boundaries
  • foibles and mistakes
  • fear-turned-excitement
  • anger-turned-compassion
  • sadness-turned-wonder and gratitude
  • discomfort-turned-comfort and true happiness

I would like to share this poem by Khalil Gibran:

On Love

“When love beckons to you, follow him,

Though his ways are hard and steep.

And when his wings enfold you yield to him,

Though the sword hidden among his pinions may wound you.

And when he speaks to you believe in him,

Though his voice may shatter your dreams

as the north wind lays waste the garden.

For even as love crowns you so shall he crucify you. Even as he is for your growth so is he for your pruning.

Even as he ascends to your height and caresses your tenderest branches that quiver in the sun,

So shall he descend to your roots and shake them in their clinging to the earth.

Like sheaves of corn he gathers you unto himself.

He threshes you to make you naked.

He sifts you to free you from your husks.

He grinds you to whiteness.

He kneads you until you are pliant;

And then he assigns you to his sacred fire, that you may become sacred bread for God’s sacred feast.

All these things shall love do unto you that you may know the secrets of your heart, and in that knowledge become a fragment of Life’s heart.

But if in your fear you would seek only love’s peace and love’s pleasure,

Then it is better for you that you cover your nakedness and pass out of love’s threshing-floor,

Into the seasonless world where you shall laugh, but not all of your laughter, and weep, but not all of your tears.

Love gives naught but itself and takes naught but from itself.

Love possesses not nor would it be possessed;

For love is sufficient unto love.

When you love you should not say, “God is in my heart,” but rather, “I am in the heart of God.”

And think not you can direct the course of love, for love, if it finds you worthy, directs your course.

Love has no other desire but to fulfill itself.

But if you love and must needs have desires, let these be your desires:

To melt and be like a running brook that sings its melody to the night.

To know the pain of too much tenderness.

To be wounded by your own understanding of love;

And to bleed willingly and joyfully.

To wake at dawn with a winged heart and give thanks for another day of loving;

To rest at the noon hour and meditate love’s ecstasy;

To return home at eventide with gratitude;

And then to sleep with a prayer for the beloved in your heart and a song of praise upon your lips.”

I invite you to open your heart to loving yourself, to enjoying the holiday season, and allowing yourself to experience the simple pleasures in life – a smile; a laugh; tears of joy or sorrow; a hug.

May you love yourself and share that love with others this season of light, and all year.

Blessings. Gratitude. Love.

About powerstrengthgrace

I lay out my intention for this blog: to share my experiences with others and direct my clients here for their personal growth. I hope to show the reader that one can be mindful without having to go to extremes. Balance and simplicity are key, and I have learned that valuable lesson time and again. About me: First, I am a mother. Secondary, but also very important: entrepreneur, fitness professional, business woman, writer, public speaker. I live in the DC metropolitan area and have created a fulfilling life for myself and my children. My career path has been interesting and varied. I have worked in research & management for a telecoms association, managed health clubs, consulted on housing market development in third world nations, and finally, have become self-employed in corporate wellness and private lifestyle management coaching. I hope that you take something with you every time you visit, and I thank you for sharing with friends, co-workers and family members.
This entry was posted in Abundance, Alone Time, Attraction, Celebration, Closure, Comfort Zone, Conflict, Core Belief, Determination, Empowerment, Encouragement, Energy, Exercise, family, fitness, Forgiveness, Friends, Girlfriends, Gratitude, Help, Infidelity, Inspiration, Integrity, Jobs, Law of Attraction, life coaching, lifestyle management, Listening, Love, Luck, Manifestation, Marriage, meditation, energy, chanting, workout,, Metaphysics, Money Management, Motivation, natural medicine, New Beginnings, Passion, Patience, Peace, personal growth, Physical Exercise, Pleasure, Power of Receiving, Power of Words, Procrastination, Relationships, relaxation, Respect, Responsibility, Self Improvement, Self-Help, Smile, Spirit of a woman, spirituality, Stress, The Four Agreements, Think Big, Truth, Uncategorized, Visualization, Weight Loss, women, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holiday Musings

  1. Vizion says:

    Whoa that’s big…it’s awesome to see parents putting their kids before themselves. I know you get brownie points from your ex-hubby for this 🙂
    You have a wonderful perspective on the whole thing, what a blessing for the whole family. Yes enjoy the solitude and make the most of your me-time! Love does takes us down some interesting roads that we can never imagine before hand. It is how we truly evolve..for love is neither right or wrong, good or bad…Love just is! How we accept, respond and react depends on our level of maturity and awareness. Tracy my dear, you are definitely aware of love without condition..what a fabulous way to live!

    • Thank you, Vizion, for reading, sharing and lifting me up! Learning to love myself first and foremost has made me a better person all-round – better mother, friend, coach, educator, writer, parenting partner…

      I use a mantra that keeps me going in darker moments (we all have them!)

      “I am love, all is well.” It’s simple, but so true. Love is gratitude, grace, strength, power, forgiveness, gentleness, acceptance and so much more. So, if I am all of those things, then all must be well.

      I hope you had a GREAT Christmas and that 2012 holds wonder, awe and MAJOR prosperity for you!
      xoxo
      ~ Tracy

      p.s. Somehow you ended up in the spam filter; if you subscribe or follow, that won’t happen again. 🙂

  2. l0ve0utl0ud says:

    The poem brought a tear to my eye. Thank you very much for sharing!

    • The poem did the same for me. I don’t usually go back and re-re-re-re-re-read my posts, but this one has had me back almost every day because of the poem. It’s deeply moving…

      Happy New Year! 🙂
      Tracy

Leave a Reply

