Being Melty: Reconnecting with the self

“Music melts all the separate parts of our bodies together” – Anaïs Nin

I love this quote. I love it because it is sensual, “touchy-feely” and emotional. I also love it because I am musically-driven and comfortable with my passionate and emotional side. I think it’s probably a little more acceptable for me to express sensuality without appearing overtly sexual, “frilly” or “artsy” because I am a woman. Lately I feel kind-a extra glad to be female, because I am completely melty over my music, and realize that what really drives me is rhythm and cadence, emotion and flow.

If you already read my blog or know me personally, you probably know that I’m a very strong person. Strength is good, yet it can sometimes be a weakness. We have been conditioned to be strong, take care of everything, be incredibly independent and in charge of our own destiny, but somewhere along the way, we have forgotten how to be, or have chosen to stop being, soft and melty. It’s almost as if we feel those qualities are too intimate to share in public. I believe that when we deny our emotional and passionate side, we are ultimately denying ourselves a balanced existence, and therefore cannot achieve true happiness. I would like to invite you to settle-in to your own soft, melty, luscious self.

I realize that this vocabulary might be a little foreign. You’re probably wondering what I mean, exactly, by soft, melty and luscious. In a nutshell, I want you to embrace your passionate, emotional self. Try for a few minutes to notice how you feel when you listen to your favorite music. What happens in your body? Do you feel it somewhere? You might notice that you relax into the melody, start to tap your toes, and maybe even move your body with the rhythm. Certain songs might release tension from the day. Next time you listen to your favorite song, close your eyes and visualize the scene that plays in your mind. Dance around your living room to move and groove your body if the spirit moves, and really get lost in the moment.

Getting lost in the moment? That’s melty. Letting yourself be transported by a song, movie, poem, or painting? That is soft and melty. Allowing yourself to follow that blissful feeling and celebrate the fact that you are so completely lost in it? That, my friends, is luscious. It’s true that water seeks it’s own level, so luscious people must attract lusciousness. I certainly want lusciousness in my life, don’t you?

Yes, this is a bit of a departure, but there is point. In case you think I’ve lost my mind, forgotten the purpose of this blog and have gone off on a sensual passion trip, I’m getting there. Chocolate and cheese fondue are melty. Fondue is warm, smooth and, if made right, silky. Yum. By melty, I mean allowing yourself to feel your emotions, feel your strength, enjoy it, and settle-in to your own silky, powerful, emotional self. There is nothing wrong with feeling and expressing your passion.

People are often inappropriate with their feelings, expressing misplaced anger as “passion” or getting worked-up in an inopportune moment. Passion is the “fire in the belly” that spurns you on, that makes you want to try new things, meet new people or complete a project. It is an expression of what you love, what makes you “tick.” Passion is strong, beautiful and totally luscious.

Following the idea that music melts all the separate parts of our bodies together, you can use music as one of the drivers that helps you connect yourself to yourself, mind-body-spirit. We hear a lot of talk about mind-body connection, but we sometimes forget the spirit. The spirit, I believe, is where our passion and lusciousness live. Unfortunately, so many of us are afraid of those feelings, afraid to be vulnerable, or be perceived as weak, overly emotional, flighty or unreliable. Passion does not have to equate to negativity, particularly if you are simply allowing yourself to melt into your own self.

When you allow yourself to feel and get lost in the moment, you are connecting with a deeper part of yourself, and therefore changing your self-perception, perhaps even loving yourself more, accepting and embracing all parts of your beautiful, true self. When you melt into yourself and relish the beauty of what inspires you, you connect with your spirit. Strength lies in knowing who you are, grounding yourself from the very base of your being, and allowing yourself to grow from there.

Have you reached down to the base, or core, of your being? What is your driver? Do you know yourself enough to appreciate all of yourself? I’m curious if you have taken the time to sit and simply enjoy being. How do you melt all the separate parts of your being together? I encourage you to find your rhythm, go with the flow and get lost in the moment, at least once per day. Think about what makes you melty. Carve out some “me” time and treat yourself to a melty afternoon or steal a few minutes to listen to your favorite song on replay, let go of “it all” and just be.

When you take the time to nurture yourself, you ultimately connect with your deepest, truest self. In doing that, you are better able to tend to your responsibilities and loved ones. Give yourself permission to be soft, melty and luscious. Create a decadent slice of heaven every day, even if only for a few moments. You will create flow and begin to move more fluidly thru all of life’s transitions and whatever comes your way. You will settle-in to your best self and find your rhythm. I wish you the best on your journey to your truest, best self. You are already on your way if you are curious and reading my blog, or wanting more from your life. You will get there if you give yourself permission.

Blessings. Gratitude. Love.

 

About powerstrengthgrace

I lay out my intention for this blog: to share my experiences with others and direct my clients here for their personal growth. I hope to show the reader that one can be mindful without having to go to extremes. Balance and simplicity are key, and I have learned that valuable lesson time and again. About me: First, I am a mother. Secondary, but also very important: entrepreneur, fitness professional, business woman, writer, public speaker. I live in the DC metropolitan area and have created a fulfilling life for myself and my children. My career path has been interesting and varied. I have worked in research & management for a telecoms association, managed health clubs, consulted on housing market development in third world nations, and finally, have become self-employed in corporate wellness and private lifestyle management coaching. I hope that you take something with you every time you visit, and I thank you for sharing with friends, co-workers and family members.
This entry was posted in Exercise, family, fitness, life coaching, lifestyle management, meditation, energy, chanting, workout,, Money Management, personal growth, relaxation, spirituality, Uncategorized, women, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

