Freedom

The other day I received some unsettling news. I learned that I will no longer be teaching one of my classes, effective immediately. While it’s not the end of the world, the news was upsetting. It was not personal, just business, but it was a blow nonetheless. It affects my bottom line and stirs up some muck I’ve apparently not finished cleaning-up and clearing-out.

Resisting the urge to go to the panicked, “What am I going to do? That’s half my grocery bill!” freaked-out space, I’ve decided to channel that energy into blogging, which in turn will help me let go and move forward. To combat negative thoughts, in addition to affirmations and mantras, I like to read anything by Deepak Chopra. I keep referring back to Power, Freedom and Grace: Living from the source of lasting happiness. That book inspired my blog name, helped me get thru a very difficult time, and inspires the way I live my life.

Chopra speaks of freedom in broad terms, and concludes a chapter on the key to lasting happiness with the following:

“When you can accept all the contradictions that life offers, when you can comfortably flow between the banks of pleasure and pain, experiencing both while getting stuck in neither, you have achieved freedom.”

I mentioned in my post on empowerment that I’ve found a sense of empowerment in the form of freedom. So, what does freedom mean? What does it mean for me, and what does it mean for you?

For me, freedom is letting go of attachments and expectations, and allowing myself to be open to all the possibilities. In doing this, I have found a way to handle anything that comes my way, even if it is initially upsetting.

I realize now that in holding on to some idea that the company I was working for would look out for me, some idea of the way I should be treated, I had unrealistic expectations. I had put my faith in a business rather than in myself. I need to re-direct my energy toward the people who depend on me: my children, family and students, and of course, myself. Eureka!

In that eureka moment, I found a piece of freedom, and return to an affirmation that I shared in the entry on empowerment:

I choose to free myself to reach my potential.

I believe everything happens for a reason, and I now see that this door is closing and another will be opening shortly, if it hasn’t already. When we choose to be open to all the possibilities, we can find ourselves in a position where we can switch gears quickly and smoothly. I have learned to “go with the flow” despite my type-A tendencies. In going with the flow, I’ve learned how to find the good in things and move with ease and grace. That is very liberating and freeing. I am working toward my potential and am finding freedom along the way.

Chopra says that freedom is the power to think or act without restraint; the capacity to exercise choice. How are you exercising your choice? Do you choose to let go in order to move ahead? You should try, it’s very liberating; freeing if you will.

Blessings. Gratitude. Love.

About powerstrengthgrace

I lay out my intention for this blog: to share my experiences with others and direct my clients here for their personal growth. I hope to show the reader that one can be mindful without having to go to extremes. Balance and simplicity are key, and I have learned that valuable lesson time and again. About me: First, I am a mother. Secondary, but also very important: entrepreneur, fitness professional, business woman, writer, public speaker. I live in the DC metropolitan area and have created a fulfilling life for myself and my children. My career path has been interesting and varied. I have worked in research & management for a telecoms association, managed health clubs, consulted on housing market development in third world nations, and finally, have become self-employed in corporate wellness and private lifestyle management coaching. I hope that you take something with you every time you visit, and I thank you for sharing with friends, co-workers and family members.
This entry was posted in life coaching, lifestyle management, personal growth, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Freedom

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Freedom | Powerstrengthgrace's Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. Alix JoyTree says:

    ” There are only 2 ways to exit this [ ‘hologram’ – Life]; Free or not Free, the choice is ours ” and those who exit free [u nailed it – non attachment to ‘form/matter] – is Free to RIP [Return in Peace] to the ‘Celectial Dance’.
    The ‘not free’ – are simply ‘recycled’ back into the ‘hologram’ to face the same ‘fears’ – again – from a ‘different’ prespective …

Leave a Reply

