Pride

Sometimes we associate pride with negativity, thinking that somehow pride holds us back, keeps us from seeing another’s viewpoint, our feelings, or from being our true selves.

In the past, I’ve allowed pride to hold me back, but today as I sit in a coffee shop reviewing a journal entry from earlier this year, I am overwhelmed with a sense of pride. I couldn’t be more proud of myself right now. I have come so far, accomplished so much, and am fulfilling my wish for a balanced, healthy and happy life. I am building a business, setting realistic goals, and reaching them. I continue to be open to all the possibilities, and in doing so, blessings and opportunities abound.

I have to ask the reader: Are you proud of yourself?

Can you say what you are proud of, without embarrassment or fear of sounding boastful? I was conditioned to be modest, not over-play my accomplishments, to not be aggressive. Society dictates some of that, some is parenting, and for me, some is just plain old insecurity. Answering that question was an exercise in “getting over it” and just letting myself feel proud of my accomplishments, however big or small.

Perhaps we all need to stop and look at our accomplishments, what we’ve been through, how we’ve gotten to where we are, and find the good in things. In finding the good in things, you might see how you overcame an obstacle. Think about it. Have you been challenged recently, on any level? If so, how did you manage it? What did you do to get thru it? Now on the other side of it, can you find the good in the situation, the “silver lining”? If you can see it, you should feel proud of yourself, what you accomplished, and try to find other situations that remind you to be proud of yourself. Find the good in things.

If you can’t see it, then you might take a moment to write about it, journal, and think for a few minutes. Try to see where you did something to affect a positive change, regardless of the outcome. Did you change your behavior to re-direct the situation (or behavior of others)? If you find that, you can feel proud of yourself.

This is not an easy exercise; I’ll be the first to admit that. We all have things we want to change about our lives. We have to start small. I would like to refer back to my last entry, Empowerment, and ask you to consider affirmations again. Take a moment to create an affirmation that helps you find the good in things, find pride in your accomplishments, without any reservations.

Life is full of challenges, and there is no question that we all go through difficult times. How we handle those situations, perhaps with grace and dignity, by rising above, finding faith, or by turning to our source, dictates the outcome. Can you find the positive in the outcome? Maybe the outcome wasn’t what you expected, but you have learned something. If you learned something, you can feel proud of yourself.

Blessings. Gratitude. Love.

About powerstrengthgrace

I lay out my intention for this blog: to share my experiences with others and direct my clients here for their personal growth. I hope to show the reader that one can be mindful without having to go to extremes. Balance and simplicity are key, and I have learned that valuable lesson time and again. About me: First, I am a mother. Secondary, but also very important: entrepreneur, fitness professional, business woman, writer, public speaker. I live in the DC metropolitan area and have created a fulfilling life for myself and my children. My career path has been interesting and varied. I have worked in research & management for a telecoms association, managed health clubs, consulted on housing market development in third world nations, and finally, have become self-employed in corporate wellness and private lifestyle management coaching. I hope that you take something with you every time you visit, and I thank you for sharing with friends, co-workers and family members.
This entry was posted in Exercise, family, fitness, life coaching, lifestyle management, meditation, energy, chanting, workout,, Money Management, personal growth, relaxation, spirituality, Uncategorized, women, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pride

  1. Kacie says:

    Right on, sister…love PRIDE as your topic. And I’m proud to call you a friend. Worshiping the divine within never equals narcissism unless it’s done in contempt of others. Namaste.

  2. Alix JoyTree says:

    Pride !!! the double edged sword …
    Sometimes it stand in the way of our ‘choices’ …and manytimes – it lifts us up – above the ‘muck’ sparing our [divine within] from falling into the pitfalls of ‘contempt’.
    Again thank you for your immense wisdom 🙂

  3. It is a double-edged sword, but only because society has labeled it so and we’ve bought-in. It’s so “radical” to think differently, isn’t it? (and so so soooo free!)

  4. Alix JoyTree says:

    very true … that’s why they are called ‘black sheep’ ….
    i can see the sense of ‘pride’ as a result of societal traditions & relationships among various members of the clan; and could have its own roots in our own sense of belonging !!!

  5. Alix JoyTree says:

    well … my mother & everyone in the family have no prob giving me that title without a second thought … and i made sure not to disappoint them; with pleasure … 😉

  6. Pingback: Keep it Cool: FAN yourself with love | Powerstrengthgrace's Blog

Leave a Reply

