Empowerment

I started to write a more academic entry about empowerment, based on the Wikipedia definition. Then, I felt uninspired and sleepy, and had to walk away from it (I was on vacation, afterall!)

The other day I had a complete parental meltdown and blew my stack with my kids about their behavior. If I’d been in my better place, if I’d only taken a breath, if I’d been feeling better, I wouldn’t have yelled at them. If only, if only…

I do realize that I am not perfect, and that holding myself to an impossible standard is, well, impossible. As I process this, I am reminded of something I read by Deepak Chopra:

“Anytime you feel resistance, anytime things are going wrong, anytime you feel frustration, anytime there is too much effort, then you are not connecting with your source, the field of pure potentiality.”

I chose to make things so much more difficult by giving-in to the temptation to control my children, as if that works! How many times do we make our lives more complicated because of a disconnect with our source? That source could be anything – meditation, religious beliefs, whatever it is that helps you center and ground yourself.

I realize that I was completely disconnected, and I need to incorporate Chopra’s message into my daily life in the form of a mantra.

I’ve settled on this: I choose to free myself to reach my potential.

You might wonder where I am going with this and how it relates to empowerment. To get there, I think it’s important to go back to my original idea for this entry, starting with a definition of the word.

“Empowerment refers to increasing the spiritual, political, social, or economic strength of individuals and communities. It often involves the empowered developing confidence in their own capacities.” (Wikipedia)

The whole definition speaks to me, but that last line really resonates: “…developing confidence in their own capacities.” I believe confidence is the key to true empowerment. Empowerment, in my experience, has come in the form of confidence and belief in myself. More importantly, it has come to me in the form of freedom.

I am not speaking of the kind of freedom we enjoy in a democratic society. I am speaking of a mindset that allows us to release our inhibitions and move forward in life. If we choose to free ourselves from resistance and frustration, we could really accomplish a lot, wouldn’t you agree?

The real trick is finding that freedom. I like to tell my friends and clients to try the following:

Daily Affirmations/Mantras.

Start simple. If you are struggling with confidence, for example, try something like this: “I am strong, confident, capable and successful.” Use your own words and always stay in the positive.

I encourage you to write down an affirmation that you may think is true about yourself, but you need to truly believe. Turn it into an acronym, throw in a few numbers (your age, the year you were born, the year you wish to accomplish that goal, etc.) and you have a great, secure and productive password! Think about how many times a day you use passwords!

Use the acronym affirmation until you believe it, truly, and you are ready to move beyond it. If you really believe the positive message you’ve been telling yourself over and over, you will free yourself from a few negative beliefs, and will empower yourself in that area of life.

It seems so simple, but you’d be surprised how effective this is. In order to change your life, you need to start small (we always hear this about dieting, right?) If you try to completely overhaul your life, you will likely feel overwhelmed and defeated. We all want to feel successful, and success can be measured in small victories, which have an amazing way of spilling-over into so many areas of life.

I wish you the best on your journey, and welcome your feedback as you learn and grow.

Blessings. Gratitude. Love.

About powerstrengthgrace

I lay out my intention for this blog: to share my experiences with others and direct my clients here for their personal growth. I hope to show the reader that one can be mindful without having to go to extremes. Balance and simplicity are key, and I have learned that valuable lesson time and again. About me: First, I am a mother. Secondary, but also very important: entrepreneur, fitness professional, business woman, writer, public speaker. I live in the DC metropolitan area and have created a fulfilling life for myself and my children. My career path has been interesting and varied. I have worked in research & management for a telecoms association, managed health clubs, consulted on housing market development in third world nations, and finally, have become self-employed in corporate wellness and private lifestyle management coaching. I hope that you take something with you every time you visit, and I thank you for sharing with friends, co-workers and family members.
This entry was posted in Exercise, family, fitness, life coaching, lifestyle management, meditation, energy, chanting, workout,, Money Management, personal growth, relaxation, spirituality, Uncategorized, women, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Empowerment

  1. Trish says:

    The first thing that comes to my mind when reading this is COURAGE. For me, getting to a place of realization, balance, etc., first takes courage: courage to recognize that I’m not where I need to or want to be, and courage to not only figure out how to get there but also to actually take those scary steps to accomplish all the tasks (mental and physical…checking off all the items on your list, so to speak) to get there.

  2. Pingback: Pride | Powerstrengthgrace's Blog

  3. Pingback: Free Your Mind (and the rest will follow!) | Powerstrengthgrace's Blog

  4. Alix JoyTree says:

    and thank you for helping me find my ‘mantra’:
    ” I AM All FREE POTENTIAL – I Create therefore I AM “

  5. Alix JoyTree says:

    I like the ‘keywords’ you picked as titles for your blogs – they are very important to me as well – this is how i found your blog in the search …
    you want to know something really weird … am not a fan of ‘Chopra’ [please – allow me time to explain why] – I know he says somethings that i like – the overall ‘philosophy – teaching,….’ has many ‘redundant’ and really ‘out of date’ [solutions] to our dire worldwide brink.
    I know that good teachings must produce ‘tangible and effective’ results that benefit 1 and all …………………… [tangent alert]. 🙂

  6. Alix JoyTree says:

    the ‘really weird something’ !!!!
    i liked the quotes you picked [appropriate to the matter of ur blog] and they are some of his that i find ‘substantial’.

  7. Re: Chopra. Some of what he offers is pretty esoteric. I like the high thinking and philosophical approach, but find more comfort in his more practical tidbits, such as those I’ve pulled for my blogs or for my own journaling inspiration.

  8. Alix JoyTree says:

    here’s my issue with him and all the gurus – They are not bringing anything ‘new’ anymore – as if, they said it all … and they are simply re wraping everything in ‘new giftwrap – the same old concepts – variations of the same old ‘teachings’ that we know, don’t really help us here and now.
    after all, we have been trying all these – for 10K yrs !!!
    I get some of the ‘esoteric’ and ‘profound’ tidbits that ‘sound’ pretty & make people feel good … am not denying the positive aeffects of these sweet and compassionate – from the heart – brilliant revelations …
    This is where i begin to question his overall philosophy … {all from the Heart}!!!

  9. Pingback: Keep it Cool: FAN yourself with love | Powerstrengthgrace's Blog

  10. Pingback: On Selecting Your TRIBE: Creating a network of support | Powerstrengthgrace's Blog

Leave a Reply

