Arrows, Signals, Signs, Listening Ears & Heart

We pay a lot of lip service to “listening to our gut/instincts/intuition” but do we really listen? I would like to say that I’m in-tune with my intuition and that I listen always. However, that would be so untrue I’d not even be able to look my own self in the mirror, let alone anyone else who I might advise to listen to their intuition.

I made a conscious, well-planned and wise decision to step down from my full-time duties at my job sometime in the last couple of months. The arrows were all pointing in that direction.

The signals were flashing: one babysitter moving away, my kids needing me to be more present, my finances in order…

The signs:::oh, the signs! See above. My kids need me, I was so worn-out, my finances are in order. My finances are in order, until my son is in full-day school, a little over a year from now. I need to effectively double my salary by September 2011, and there is no way to do that in the job I held. I could have continued to work full-time for the same company, but to make the kind of salary necessary to support two children in this area of the country with any type of comfortable lifestyle, I would have to take on more responsibility and work MORE.

The very clear reality set-in when I was in my attorney’s office signing my final divorce papers: I am ‘it’ for my kids. My children’s father spends his every other weekend, has his weekly dinner, calls regularly, but I am ‘it’ for them. I am their rock. I am building their foundation. They depend on and look to me to find their way in this world. I set the example, I teach, discipline and lead them on their path. I am teaching them about intuition, trusting their instincts, how they feel in their “belly” when they have thoughts or concerns.

The same day I sent in my final divorce papers, I learned I needed to move, realized that I needed to trust my intuition to lead me and my kids down the right path: to rent again or to purchase? I knew the answer would present itself. I researched all options, and the arrows pointed in the direction of purchasing, and in a community I almost moved to a year before.

In less than a month, I got pre-qualified for a loan, found a house, bought it, closed and moved. I had a lot of help, but I put it in motion and made it all come together. And I was wondering why I felt so tired, so drained. The 17 month separation, craziness, healing, grounding, growing experience, and closure on divorce, combined with selling a house, moving, and moving again……no wonder. No wonder I was so tired. I AM so tired. One cannot operate in survival mode indefinitely. It was bound to catch up at some point.

And catch up it did! In cycling-down, recovering from the trauma of a divorce, jumping thru hoops, some seemingly unnecessary yet important exercises, I am finding myself tired yet invigorated. I’ve never run a marathon, but I am certain this is how a runner feels after finishing one. Tired, drained, exhausted, elated, invigorated, ready to move forward! What’s next? Where to from here? A HUGE accomplishment! I’ve just completed a life marathon.

So, with my listening ears, heart, all the arrows pointing in ‘that’ direction, the signs there, some blaringly obvious, I still found myself in a contemplative and doubt-filled space. I was questioning my own intuition, my decision… They asked me to stay on, reduced-duties, and still be actively involved in the company. I agreed temporarily while they search for my successor. They asked again if I would stay on, reduced duties, different title, “remember who you’d be working with” (a local super star) and it got me thinking, questioning my decision.

In talking with the wonderful babysitter who’s moving away, my listening ears and heart turned back on, my intuition glowing……. A bright light from my heart and belly, if you will. I had made up my mind a while back. I decided to take the leap of faith, certain, absolutely certain, that I’m doing the right thing. She reminded me of that as I talked thru it. I have surrounded myself with amazing people who know and understand me, and remind me to put my head back on straight when needed. She also reminded me that I was resolute, and that in doubting temporarily, I’ve re-affirmed my decision.

So, arrows pointing, signals blaring/flashing, signs clearly posted, and listening ears and heart attuned…..I move ahead. I have decided that it’s time to jump into the cold water with both feet. My toes have already felt the water, and though it’s pretty cold, maybe even a little uncomfortable and scary, it feels GREAT! Cleansing, renewing, exciting, fresh. It’s where I need to go, it’s what I need to do. If I continue to trust my intuition and follow my heart, my children will also benefit. They benefit from a happy, balanced and grounded mama. They benefit from my success. They benefit from my example.

My daughter announced yesterday that she’s happy because “Mami’s happier now” BAM! How’s that for a sign???

I share this because life brings us exactly what we need, when we need it. I share this because I’ve been given a gift. I share my gift, I share my journey. I am incredibly blessed to have such an amazing community surrounding me with love and light.

Blessings. Gratitude. Love.

About powerstrengthgrace

I lay out my intention for this blog: to share my experiences with others and direct my clients here for their personal growth. I hope to show the reader that one can be mindful without having to go to extremes. Balance and simplicity are key, and I have learned that valuable lesson time and again. About me: First, I am a mother. Secondary, but also very important: entrepreneur, fitness professional, business woman, writer, public speaker. I live in the DC metropolitan area and have created a fulfilling life for myself and my children. My career path has been interesting and varied. I have worked in research & management for a telecoms association, managed health clubs, consulted on housing market development in third world nations, and finally, have become self-employed in corporate wellness and private lifestyle management coaching. I hope that you take something with you every time you visit, and I thank you for sharing with friends, co-workers and family members.
This entry was posted in life coaching, lifestyle management, personal growth, spirituality, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Arrows, Signals, Signs, Listening Ears & Heart

  1. Lola says:

    Amazing and truly uplifting baby! Thanks for this!

  2. Alix JoyTree says:

    Absolutely [Amazing and truly] inspiring !!!
    Your energy is ‘overflowing’ – no better attitude for sure – in good speed with best of all wellness & success.

    • Thank you. I felt I needed to share this personal note to show readers who I am, and that what I write comes not only from the heart, but also from a place of experience, and shows that I’m a real person who has struggles, but also that I’ve shifted the direction of my life by shifting my perspective.

  3. Alix JoyTree says:

    all the great reasons … and i ‘sense vs. feel’ the difference and the depth of your experiences … struggles are the sweet delights of life – as long as they are dealt with Mindfulness – one very crucial and easily ignored by the many is; ‘situational awareness’ – how can anyone begin to tackle the challenges, if they are not in full control of the situation?
    Overwhelmed with time is ticking … everything is shifting/changing – how can the [average] person recover from under this wreckage??
    what saved the Chilean minors were all the ‘systems’ put in place that even made that catastophe survivable/rescuable – 10 yrs ago – forget it. Remember … 10 yrs ago – they would’ve had the people, the hope, the prayers, ….. none are ‘Motions [plans, tech, organization, experince, test/error] – not the same old ‘e.motions’ – this is how the world is ‘shifting’ – some are aware of it – the multitude – doesn’t. and this is a problem now – since some of the ‘mis informed/misguided’ – can get on airplanes and make life a miserable cattle barn for angry mob – the whole thing is just too much for any ‘organism – the planet’ to begin reversal of this ‘mad trend’ of rage … everywhere…
    i have many ‘mantras’. Another one is : ” The wise plan & act; the [not so wise] pray[hope] & REACT.” making the whole difference in the world between ‘bliss’ and ‘amiss’ … Perspective is very important … it is closely related to ‘Perception’ – what is imprinted on the Being] –

  4. Pingback: Keep it Cool: FAN yourself with love | Powerstrengthgrace's Blog

Leave a Reply

